Don’t try this at home.


I must say, writing is a much harder profession than I anticipated. Especially when doing so full–time, it’s difficult to get into a groove and find that muse — whether at home, in an office, or what–have–you. I guess that’s why there always seems to be a plethora of writers in Starbucks and similar places whenever you go there.

Which I have; I’m sitting in a Starbucks in Leslieville, Queen St E in Toronto. I’m trying to write, only I guess I’m not cut from the same cloth as the other laptop–bearers kicking it around me. Something about the Cuban–fusion music being just a bit too loud? Perhaps it’s more the idea that a change of scene doesn’t exactly invoke creativity.

I like watching people in public. I always have, only when I was in high school I was observing them in order to draw them, making little sketches more akin to geometric compositions than to human forms… but I still felt as though we were engaging somehow. Now I just see them walking back and forth — accompanied by baby strollers, yoga bags, stepping into the rightmost lane of traffic to scour for a streetcar. If I’m here all the way from London, what about them? How far have they been walking their dog? Where is the streetcar going to take them?

I’m glad I don’t have to write novels for a living. I envy those writers the creative strength they must possess to do so, but I’m glad that school begins in another eight weeks or so, glad to be getting back into a groove that sees me writing about music and returning to my comfort zone while I return to my studies and struggle creatively in a different arena.

Sometimes I think it’s all about the struggle.

Comments
One Response to “Don’t try this at home.”
  1. Bobby says:

    Sometimes it’s hard for me to think that I used to write something here once a day. For two years.

Leave a Reply

  • About

    My name is Bobby.

    I write about random things a lot. I write a lot about random things.

    I write occasionally for Smashing Magazine and the London Community News online, and weekly for Interrobang, the student voice newspaper at Fanshawe College in London, Ontario.

    I've also been published by the Canadian University Press.
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog!

