I figure.


I’ve been having a really hard time writing things lately. That’s the short story.

I’ve driven myself mad trying to recapture creativity, recapture that ease and flow of writing that I enjoyed for so long; I can’t seem to string words together very well anymore. I love writing about music, but there are even times when I feel as though that’s not as easy as it used to be. So what’s the problem?

I thought maybe it was that I was too crowded. Working out of an office and having people and conversation all around me all day is distracting, granted, but now I’m not sure that was the only issue. Working in empty meeting rooms was an improvement, it felt like my thoughts could fill the room there. Like Michael Caine’s character in Inception. Working from home is similar, but has distractions all its own. I think I need to leave the house, think I need something to separate one day from another. Working from home is just lousy for that.

Through the school year, when it’s just me and my column, it comes so effortlessly. I think it’s creativity by association; when I’m up through the night doing design homework, I’ve already captured a creative headspace, yeahs? So perhaps that’s it, too… not just the fact that it’s quiet, dark, and I’m alone.

So the experiment continues, it would seem. I’m going to try to write here more, in case I’m just out of practice. In case you have to balance work writing with fun writing to be any good at either one.

WordPress is looking really nice these days… I guess it has been a while since I’ve been around.

Leave a Reply

  • About

    My name is Bobby.

    I write about random things a lot. I write a lot about random things.

    I write occasionally for Smashing Magazine and the London Community News online, and weekly for Interrobang, the student voice newspaper at Fanshawe College in London, Ontario.

    I've also been published by the Canadian University Press.
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog!

