Blast from the (recent) past!


Cover, Bulletproofskin


Bush Days — Far from trying to be insightful or overly personal tonight, I wanted instead to take the chance to share something pretty rare; back in 2005, when Institute formed and Gavin Rossdale was returning to the world of rock music, I fought and impressed my way into working with Joe Haduck on his fan site.

A simple bulletin-board styled page where fans could leave messages for the band led to other projects, and then this — the mother of all fan jobs, producing a full-booklet of tour photos, stories, reviews and more. It was a brilliant summer project, and a great way to pass the time waiting for Distort Yourself to actually be “in stores now.”

The fan club unfortunately soon had too many cooks in the kitchen, so nothing was ever released, despite months of work. And as Christmas drew near, Institute began to make their way home, ready to work once again on other projects. I’ve done a lot of projects in the meantime, too, but I’ve gone some time without the kind of excitement and energy that I got that one summer from working on something I loved.

The above image was one version of the cover of the tour magazine, and unfortunately, one fan article that would not get to be seen or shared, evidently. So enjoy this rare peek and keep praying like me that Bush will be back next week… or the week after that!


Institute, group

Leave a Reply

  • About

    My name is Bobby.

    I write about random things a lot. I write a lot about random things.

    I write occasionally for Smashing Magazine and the London Community News online, and weekly for Interrobang, the student voice newspaper at Fanshawe College in London, Ontario.

    I've also been published by the Canadian University Press.
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog!

