End of an era.

Today was the last day for me at Teletech in London; no more tech support (though I haven’t had to do that for a year and a half now), no more circuit provisioning, no more customer service, no more call centre work. After better than two years (when I wasn’t really expecting it to last very long at all, to be honest), I turned in my security badge and walked out those revolving doors for the last time.

I started there quietly late in March of 2008; though I didn’t write about it here, it was a pretty big change from any job I’d had before. I have to say, though, despite it being a big part of my life for so long, there really wasn’t any trepidation in leaving — I know I’m not leaving any friends behind, and that I’m moving onto the next new thing, writing full-time for Interrobang at the college through the summer.

The boys and I marked the occasion with pizza and frisbee at Victoria Park downtown for lunch, and then I came home, my few collected keepsakes from my former job inside my school bag. If I could choose how to celebrate anything in the future, it would play out exactly the way my lunch did today — good food, the best of friends, a warm, sunny day, and a frisbee.

Anyway, I have a long day to look forward to with Erica tomorrow. In addition to it being Free Comic Book Day, we’re going to check out the launch party for Ball Hockey International’s new London location, and go swimming at the gym. Plus, she has homework to do (and I don’t!), so.

Leave a Reply

  • About

    My name is Bobby.

    I write about random things a lot. I write a lot about random things.

    I write occasionally for Smashing Magazine and the London Community News online, and weekly for Interrobang, the student voice newspaper at Fanshawe College in London, Ontario.

    I've also been published by the Canadian University Press.
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog!

