No WRIT.


So I spent the day in orientation at school, receiving information and supplies for the classes and curriculum I’m all set to begin on Tuesday next week.

In a class info session, I received my schedule and information validation sheets, which indicated to me that over the course of the coming term I am going to participate in 255 hours of class, instead of the prescribed 300. The cause?

Well, every student going into any program in Design received a mailing a couple of months ago indicating the need to write the WRIT, a mandatory assessment of an individual’s skill in reading and writing. The mailing further indicated that the writing of the test was to determine each student’s placement in their English literacy courses over the term.

I received my schedule without any sort of WRIT course upon it. I asked, and it turns out that contrary to the mailing, the WRIT is a pass/fail affair; an essay, the WRIT is indeed an assessment of one’s literacy. However, it would seem that if you’re literate, you’re in the clear.

Leave a Reply

  • About

    My name is Bobby.

    I write about random things a lot. I write a lot about random things.

    I write occasionally for Smashing Magazine and the London Community News online, and weekly for Interrobang, the student voice newspaper at Fanshawe College in London, Ontario.

    I've also been published by the Canadian University Press.
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog!

