Wisdom.


I am getting my remaining wisdom teeth out in the morning – anyone who wanted to really impress me could locate where among this site I’ve mentioned getting the first one out, but to very little gain. I guess I just got caught up in the thought that I’ve been tending to this thing for so long that that one event all those years ago made its way into my words, into this record.

Anyway, they’ve told me that for reasons to do with the anesthesia, I can’t have anything to eat or drink (including water) for eight hours prior to the procedure. So hear I am, with a deadline of 3:00 am, snacking and drinking and tending to my stomach in the hopes that it will help me feel better in the morning.

Is it still normal to feel anxious about these sorts of things at my age? I wouldn’t say that I’m scared, necessarily, but I am definitely not looking forward to it. Last time I had the one tooth out without missing a beat, even chewing gum at work the next day. But I haven’t felt that invincible in a long time, a very long time. Maybe that’s the irony of wisdom, in truth… or at least, that in a tooth.

Comments
2 Responses to “Wisdom.”
  1. Lorrie says:

    Dude! There are so many better things you could do exactly 3 years apart to the day other than get teeth pulled.
    Did you even ask for suggestions?
    Hope it went well!

    Lorrie

  2. Bobby says:

    Thanks, Lorrie. And I’m fairly impressed, though really it wasn’t quite to the day. I don’t have an exact record of it, but in my mind it feels like it was about August 21st that year.

    It did go well, though, and I’m feeling just fine. Smiles!

Leave a Reply

  • About

    My name is Bobby.

    I write about random things a lot. I write a lot about random things.

    I write occasionally for Smashing Magazine and the London Community News online, and weekly for Interrobang, the student voice newspaper at Fanshawe College in London, Ontario.

    I've also been published by the Canadian University Press.
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog!

