Of exhaustion.

I know, it’s been forever since I’ve written anything here. Not only this week, but beyond that by quite a while. Truth is I’ve been running ragged, pulled in a lot of different directions; I guess I’d thought that it’d be best to keep busy in order to keep myself from going crazy for the five weeks Nicole would be away, but rather conversely I’ve been driving myself crazy by pushing too hard.

I took the day off of work today in order to decompress; between work, my weekends with Erica (which are great, but I have to keep up), planning social events, and near non-stop, almost seven-day-per-week practicing for the hockey tournament this weekend past, I’ve had no time to rest. Factor in my cutting severely back on caffeine, poor ability to sleep, greatly reduced appetite, and the time difference to Alberta and how late I have to stay up to speak to Nicole, and it all adds up to a Bobby that can’t stay awake at work anymore.

I can’t tell if it’s due or in addition to the exhaustion, but I’ve found myself also to be at a creative impass: I can’t bring myself to focus on any one particular project right now, so my apologies go out to anyone waiting to read script outlines or listen to demo recordings. Even the tournament photos are still on the list, I’ve just been drained.

I realize that this entry is probably for my own benefit more than anyone else’s, and though I don’t like to be the type to make excuses, I guess maybe I needed to say it. So it’s out, and we’ll move on like always, with any luck. Here’s to tomorrow, and Erica’s return to London for the weekend.

Leave a Reply

  • About

    My name is Bobby.

    I write about random things a lot. I write a lot about random things.

    I write occasionally for Smashing Magazine and the London Community News online, and weekly for Interrobang, the student voice newspaper at Fanshawe College in London, Ontario.

    I've also been published by the Canadian University Press.
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog!

