Back again.

No chance of a blog post last night, after a ball hockey game after work yesterday turned into a trip to the hospital for me. It all happened suddenly; I was playing defense in front of our goalie James when an opponent managed to sneak past and go on a breakaway. I caught up to him and then some, chipping the ball off of his stick, when he shoved me hard from behind. Unprepared, I landed very poorly on my left foot, rolling my ankle forward before tumbling head over foot over James. I hit the ground and rolled over, but the pain in my foot and ankle was just terrible.

I got up for a bit, tried to walk it off, and did get to feeling better. Like any sprain or pulled muscle, sometimes the one strike is the worst of the matter, and after a rest I improved a great deal. I subbed in very soon after and within a minute of playing, broke my only hockey stick. I sat out for a long time waiting for another right-handed stick to become available, and played normally for the next 30 minutes.

Later at home the swelling began, and general discomfort. Over the next while, a combination of massaging, icing, and resting my foot made it terribly painful. A trip to the hospital and a lot of x-rays later, I hear the truth: nothing broken, but bad sprains in the ankle and two places in my foot.

Now I’m not supposed to play hockey for a month, and I have to use these crutches they gave me for at least a week. And if there’s any one thing that has made this experience worse than anything, it’s the crutches – I can’t use them to save my life, and they are hurting and exhausting me like you wouldn’t believe.

At the very least, I have the best of friends. I didn’t even have to ask for someone to hold the door, or carry a coffee, or for a piggy-back ride; my friends are as understanding as they are supportive, telling me repeatedly to stay off my foot and employ the crutches to have a chance to heal. It should be pointed out, however, that they do want me to play in a tournament with them in three weeks…

Leave a Reply

  • About

    My name is Bobby.

    I write about random things a lot. I write a lot about random things.

    I write occasionally for Smashing Magazine and the London Community News online, and weekly for Interrobang, the student voice newspaper at Fanshawe College in London, Ontario.

    I've also been published by the Canadian University Press.
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog!

