Of guidance.

Being a writer is hard work, I can tell you that. I recently had an idea for what I feel is a very cool writing project, and have been having trouble getting myself started. That’s when a dear friend and gifted writer gave me some tips on setting goals, pushing myself, and writing conventions for the style of writing I am attempting.

I know what you’re thinking – writers have such glamourous lives, what with the drinking and burden of intellect, but it is much harder than it looks. And if hypothetically you were trying to write something comedic, well… it gets harder still.

I’m reluctant to share too much at this point, save with a few very close individuals, but I am trying hard. I’ve challenged myself to write for one hour an evening, with no music or distraction whatsoever. Yesterday I wrote over 1,000 words. Tonight, it was more like 490.

Being a writer is hard.

Comments
2 Responses to “Of guidance.”
  1. Likalia says:

    Which is why we always fall back to the drinking part, makes it all much easier…;)

    Way to go with the 1500 words though.

  2. Bobby says:

    Thanks, I went to the movies tonight, so I’ve given myself the night off. But I will return to it tomorrow. I have a looooooot of writing to do…

Leave a Reply

  • About

    My name is Bobby.

    I write about random things a lot. I write a lot about random things.

    I write occasionally for Smashing Magazine and the London Community News online, and weekly for Interrobang, the student voice newspaper at Fanshawe College in London, Ontario.

    I've also been published by the Canadian University Press.
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog!

