Of music.

I know it’s been a long time since I’ve written much about music… probably not since I was recounting my favourites of 2008 a couple of months ago. I’m still checking out a lot of music, listening to a vast variety of artists, new and old.

Part of the joy of it lately has been finding good music by older artists… established artists that have been around for awhile, and yet I couldn’t spare the money to buy their music. I had very little money when I was a teenager, as my love of music was born, and had to be very selective with regards to what I bought.

I’m happy to get more specifically into artists and albums that I’ve been spinning recently, but I thought I’d start things off by mentioning a couple of great resources. To begin, there’s the ExploreMusic radio program syndicated across much of our country here. Host Alan Cross does a fantastic job of covering music news and current events, informing people about forthcoming albums, and the like.

Additionally, he posts five songs “You Gotta Hear Today” every weekday, which are very often quite random since he gets many of his own suggestions from listeners who email in recommendations. As an example, today’s five artists are Gallows, The Love Language, Pop Evil, Kittie, and Bootsauce. Yep… random.

And as a final note, I want to mention that they’ve made some big changes to The Hype Machine and Last.fm, the latter having made some major changes since I last signed in (October) and especially since I joined. It’s this crazy network now, and integrated with so many sites and tools. I’ve enjoyed it for a long time (and have been scrobbling my music non-stop for years) and I’m glad it stuck around.

So yes… ExploreMusic for the latest news and release info, The Hype Machine for digging up those rare gems in new artists and music, and Last.fm for recommendations, organization, and streaming radio. If you don’t already belong to them, do it. More music after this break.

Leave a Reply

  • About

    My name is Bobby.

    I write about random things a lot. I write a lot about random things.

    I write occasionally for Smashing Magazine and the London Community News online, and weekly for Interrobang, the student voice newspaper at Fanshawe College in London, Ontario.

    I've also been published by the Canadian University Press.
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog!

