The pros and cons of positive airway pressure.


So the result of a sleep study I did right after my birthday in January is that I have a pretty severe case of obstructive sleep apnea. I know what you’re thinking, and yes, it is a little scary; I won’t post any specific results of the study, cos they are a little alarming.

Part of the outcome, though, is that I’ve had to go out and get this CPAP machine to breathe while I sleep. That stands for continuous positive airway pressure, and it’s going to keep bits in my throat and palette from collapsing while I sleep. But rest assured, there are plenty of good things about it too.

Pro It’ll be nice to sleep deeply and dream again.

Con All my dreams to start are going to feature me as a fighter pilot, or maybe someone still plugged into the Matrix.

Pro It provides the pressure, and feels kinda cool in the way that it inflates my lungs for me.

Con Suppose I become lazy and forget how to breathe for myself..?

Pro The mask that I have fits only over my nose, so it’s not terribly intrusive.

Con Never mind the facial hair strike I was thinking of going on.

Pro I get to sleep on the other side of the bed to be near an outlet.

Con Now when Nicole hogs the space available, I won’t be up against the wall and will likely fall off onto the floor. Oh sheesh, here she comes…

Leave a Reply

  • About

    My name is Bobby.

    I write about random things a lot. I write a lot about random things.

    I write occasionally for Smashing Magazine and the London Community News online, and weekly for Interrobang, the student voice newspaper at Fanshawe College in London, Ontario.

    I've also been published by the Canadian University Press.
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog!

