Best of 2008.

I was recently inspired by my best mate to review my favourite music from last year (in order to make him a CD of the resultant tracks for his birthday), and thought I’d share the result with you. In reverse order.

#01 .: Coldplay, Viva La Vida, or Death And All His Friends

Coldplay, Viva La Vida
It’s a long and funny story how I got into Coldplay in 2003… it was actually Erica that got me into them. I used to regular sing The Scientist to get her to calm down or go to sleep.

Since then, the band has won me over with every album, every song they’ve released. This past year, they blessed us with Viva La Vida (or Death And All His Friends), which is honestly the record I’ve listened to more than any other this year.

It’s very rare that an album comes along that I can’t skip any part of while listening. On a scale, I’d give each and every song on this record a ten, and the extra material made available from the band through their website, special releases, and iTunes have been an incredible supplement to the record.

Produced by Brian Eno, this record was allowed to come to the band by serendipity, not a calculated effort to write and produce music. It shimmers and shines and soars unlike any other I heard in 2008, and I love it beyond most.

The brilliant video above is the song Life In Technicolor II, and it is as new as videos come – I just received word of its release from the newsfeed as Coldplay.com. This version (extension?) of Life In Technicolor was released on the Prospekt’s March EP a short while ago, another brilliant collection.

Official site | more about the man.

Comments
3 Responses to “Best of 2008.”
  1. Likalia says:

    Ok that was awesome! lol

  2. Slava says:

    That video is off the hook!

Leave a Reply

  • About

    My name is Bobby.

    I write about random things a lot. I write a lot about random things.

    I write occasionally for Smashing Magazine and the London Community News online, and weekly for Interrobang, the student voice newspaper at Fanshawe College in London, Ontario.

    I've also been published by the Canadian University Press.
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog!

