Best of 2008.

I was recently inspired by my best mate to review my favourite music from last year (in order to make him a CD of the resultant tracks for his birthday), and thought I’d share the result with you. In reverse order.

#03 .: Senses Fail, Life Is Not A Waiting Room

Senses Fail, Life Is Not A Waiting Room
Though Senses Fail quickly became one of my favourite bands after the release of their second album, Still Searching, they fell completely off of my radar. I remember waiting impatiently for news on the upcoming record, and checking frequently, but then… I don’t know.

(In all honesty, it’s likely that I simply became too dependent upon Facebook updates to let me know about such things. I am only slightly ashamed.)

Anyway, I was at the mall around the start of December, and just looking around when I decided to kill some time in a record store. I can spend years in those places, particularly when the music is as good as it was then – so good, in fact, that I had to know what it was that was being broadcast over the PA system.

“The new Senses Fail,” the dude behind the counter told me. “It’s pretty sweet.”

“There’s a new Senses Fail??” I got so angry. Turns out the new record, Life Is Not A Waiting Room, had been out for close to six weeks, and I had had no idea the whole time.

Upon obtaining it and listening, I can say that it’s nearly every bit as solid as its predecessor; though there are a couple of tracks that seem almost out of character in their radio-friendliness, the collective of songs feels very much in keeping with the tone and sound of the band that I had grown to love.

Listening to this album, there are going to be a few songs you might find yourself skipping. Everything else, though, is going to be played repeatedly, and played loud. This is exactly the sort of pumped-up rock record I was hoping for, and I love it.

Though the first single off of Waiting Room is a song called Family Tradition, I’m opting instead to include the song Four Years in the video above. I think it’s a solid example of the middle ground on the album between the overly radio-friendly tracks and the more hardcore numbers, and besides that it’s just good.

Check out Life Is Not A Waiting Room soon, and discover what will surely be your new favourite record for driving, walking, and the like.

Official site | more about the band.

Leave a Reply

  • About

    My name is Bobby.

    I write about random things a lot. I write a lot about random things.

    I write occasionally for Smashing Magazine and the London Community News online, and weekly for Interrobang, the student voice newspaper at Fanshawe College in London, Ontario.

    I've also been published by the Canadian University Press.
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog!

