Best of 2008.

I was recently inspired by my best mate to review my favourite music from last year (in order to make him a CD of the resultant tracks for his birthday), and thought I’d share the result with you. In reverse order.

#05 .: Matthew Good, Live At Massey Hall

Matthew Good, Live At Massey Hall
I can remember getting excited (and blogging) when I heard the news that Matthew Good might be recording his show at Massey Hall in Toronto. Though not his first tour in support of Hospital Music, it was his first (non-solo, non-acoustic) tour with a full band in quite some time.

Nicole and I had obtained our tickets well in advance. It was my first time seeing him in concert since the Matthew Good Band broke up (way back in 2002), and my first ever show at Massey Hall, and in all, it was an evening that I can only describe as magical.

Matthew made it clear in interviews that the band had only learned a limited number of his songs, but that wasn’t apparent when they took the stage. They played a full set of fourteen songs that was two hours if it was ten minutes, and then came out to do another half set as an encore. And the best part of the evening was Matthew coming back out again – alone – to perform a second encore, a couple of songs by himself on acoustic guitar.

Every breathtaking moment, every single note and refrain (though sadly, very little of the banter) is represented here, mastered to perfection. This album is a shining, everlasting reminder of the best concert I’ve ever been to, and really is a must-listen.

The video I’m providing is live footage of the MGB classic Apparitions filmed at the show itself, though unfortunately by an amateur. The audio is the mastered track from the record itself, though, and synced near perfectly.

I was on the opposite side of the stage, and slightly closer, but you can totally get the sense of what it was like to be there. A feeling that comes from listening to the record in its entirety. A feeling that can only be topped by actually having been there, which was mighty fucken cool, too.

Official site | more about the man.

Leave a Reply

  • About

    My name is Bobby.

    I write about random things a lot. I write a lot about random things.

    I write occasionally for Smashing Magazine and the London Community News online, and weekly for Interrobang, the student voice newspaper at Fanshawe College in London, Ontario.

    I've also been published by the Canadian University Press.
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog!

