Best of 2008.

I was recently inspired by my best mate to review my favourite music from last year (in order to make him a CD of the resultant tracks for his birthday), and thought I’d share the result with you. In reverse order.

#07 .: City And Colour, Bring Me Your Love

City And Colour, Bring Me Your Love
Dallas Green, the sole/founding member of City And Colour, will always have a very special place in my heart. A musical place… or, in my musical heart… or both. Or something.

Anyway, my first exposure to City And Colour was just over two years ago, when Nicole made me a mixed CD full of random music. The title track from the album Sometimes was among the listing, and it just haunted me; the song is eerily beautiful and heart-wrenching.

The album itself became a crutch in my life for awhile, so I was naturally looking very forward to the release of the follow-up record, Bring Me Your Love… and it doesn’t disappoint. Dallas’ vision is intact on this record as with his first, and the songs themselves are as well-structured as his earlier work; Dallas has a way with melodies and words that is near unparalleled in music today.

The album itself is slightly more layered than it’s predecessor, with a fuller backing band and vocals. In addition, guest vocals by Gord Downie on the record’s second single, Sleeping Sickness, have worked to generate additional buzz for a great album.

The video here contains the most recent single, called The Girl. Anyone who reads here regularly will know that I posted the song and lyrics earlier last year shortly after the album came out. The video is stunning, very well filmed and beautifully finished, and if it doesn’t make you want to check out the rest of the record, nothing will.

Official site | more about the band.

Comments
2 Responses to “Best of 2008.”
  1. Likalia says:

    I think City and Colour has to be my favourite find with regard to music lately, just beautiful songs.

    • Bobby says:

      Most definitely; there are many out there who think that Dallas Green is Canada’s best, most influential of all active troubadours today. He’s won awards stating such, and it’s not hard to understand why.

Leave a Reply

  • About

    My name is Bobby.

    I write about random things a lot. I write a lot about random things.

    I write occasionally for Smashing Magazine and the London Community News online, and weekly for Interrobang, the student voice newspaper at Fanshawe College in London, Ontario.

    I've also been published by the Canadian University Press.
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog!

