Best of 2008.

I was recently inspired by my best mate to review my favourite music from last year (in order to make him a CD of the resultant tracks for his birthday), and thought I’d share the result with you. In reverse order.

#09 .: Gavin Rossdale, Wanderlust

Gavin Rossdale, Wanderlust
Anyone who knows a thing about me has already heard at length the impact and influence that Gavin Rossdale has had on my life, musically and otherwise.

Having of course had his share of success with Bush, Gavin was rumoured to be preparing a solo project in 2005, but formed Institute instead, a sharper, more precise rock band that was the cheetah to Bush’s lion.

He came back in 2008 with Wanderlust, and finally spread his wings with the type of tender, insightful music he’s been hinting at for years in songs like Letting The Cables Sleep and Out Of This World.

Examples from the disc keep popping up everywhere: the opening track Can’t Stop The World was originally featured as the theme to the brief TV series Drive, and his experimental This Place Is On Fire has been featured on Smallville.

A full scale tour is kicking off this Spring in support of the album, and beyond that? Gavin reportedly stated in December 2008 that Bush would return in 2009. Likely or not, I can dare to dream.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Recorded for AOL Sessions right around the time Wanderlust came out, the above video has Gavin and his band performing The Trouble I’m In in a special acoustic/intimate setting. You’ll no doubt hear the difference between his past and his future, and hopefully you’ll enjoy the record, too.

Official site | more about the man.

Leave a Reply

  • About

    My name is Bobby.

    I write about random things a lot. I write a lot about random things.

    I write occasionally for Smashing Magazine and the London Community News online, and weekly for Interrobang, the student voice newspaper at Fanshawe College in London, Ontario.

    I've also been published by the Canadian University Press.
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog!

