Best of 2008.

I was recently inspired by my best mate to review my favourite music from last year (in order to make him a CD of the resultant tracks for his birthday), and thought I’d share the result with you. In reverse order.

#10 .: Kings Of Leon, Only By The Night

Kings Of Leon, Only By The Night
Honestly, rounding out the bottom of the ten was a difficult choice for me. The first seven or eight choices were no-brainers, but the last couple took a lot of thought and careful consideration.

I first picked up and listened to the Kings’ most recent record a few months ago, awhile after their lead single, Sex On Fire, had a chance to make a big splash for them on the radio and generate a lot of buzz for the album.

From the first listen, I was shocked at how consistently good and interesting the record is; each track, though united by a common feel, is unique enough of its own merit to stand alone from the pack.

Also apparent right from the start is the type of passionate vocals provided by Caleb Followill, and if I’m being completely honest, I totally didn’t expect him to look like he does when I first saw one of their videos; I guess I expected a bigger, dirtier sort of singer, jaded with experience. Like Meat Loaf, or a black guy. Oh well.

Not apparent, however, is the band’s deep country and religious backgrounds. Originally formed around 1998, Caleb and his two brothers – Nathan and Jared – and first cousin, Matthew all came together as a country band, influenced equally by their Pentecostal upbringing and Jack Daniels. Who would’ve thought this to be the place that music led them?

Despite their sudden rise to success here in North America, the band remains far more popular in Europe, and particularly England and Ireland. The video above is a live performance of their hit single, Sex On Fire, recorded shortly before the release of Only By The Night. Check it out, and check out the album as well.

Official site | more about the band.

Leave a Reply

  • About

    My name is Bobby.

    I write about random things a lot. I write a lot about random things.

    I write occasionally for Smashing Magazine and the London Community News online, and weekly for Interrobang, the student voice newspaper at Fanshawe College in London, Ontario.

    I've also been published by the Canadian University Press.
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog!

