Saturdaying.


The only good thing about the one-two punch of the fever/throat infection I’ve been dealing with for a few days is that it’s allowed me time to work on the supplemental portfolio assignments that Fanshawe College deferred upon me. Exciting, I know.

I know I mentioned them a couple of days ago, and in particular the one about drawing a two-point perspective of a building, and in the last couple of days, spending an increasing number of waking hours on it, I’ve come to an important realization: I really suck at drawing.

And before you think it’s modesty, I have the grades to prove it. Though I did go through an exclusive arts program through high school, the classes focusing purely on traditional arts and mediums were the weak links in my chain; I saw my high school transcript while applying for Fanshawe, I was a B average student at most.

And with this particular assignment, I mean… I’m certainly no master of perspective, detail, or depth, but the thing I’m struggling the most with is drawing guides lightly enough that I can still erase the first fifty attempts at a particular aspect of the photo.

Even now, I stand back and look at it, and I see glaring art violations leaping off of the page and staring back at me. So I’ve been working on it now for hours, and am debating as to whether or not to tackle repairing this one other (predominantly visible) error before I turn in for the night. Happy Saturday.

Leave a Reply

  • About

    My name is Bobby.

    I write about random things a lot. I write a lot about random things.

    I write occasionally for Smashing Magazine and the London Community News online, and weekly for Interrobang, the student voice newspaper at Fanshawe College in London, Ontario.

    I've also been published by the Canadian University Press.
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog!

