Resolutions.

Funny thing how the new year can inspire people to make the changes in their lives, the things that they need to affect in order to make the change they want in themselves, their jobs, etc. I’ve spoken to people lately that have explained to me the math of calorie-counting and dieting, and people all around seem to want to shed ten to fifteen lbs.

As a funny story, I tried to do the same a few years back. Starting January 1st a few years ago (I don’t remember exactly which year, but I think it was 2005), I spent twenty minutes an evening doing a routine of crunches, push-ups, and different sets with dumbbells. I was able to stick to the routine for exactly three weeks.

See, at the same time, I was playing hockey two to three nights a week, every week. One day, I opted to play goalie for hockey, and early in the game, I butterflied to make a save and felt a pop in my knee. Turned out later that I tore the medial collateral ligament in my knee, and I wasn’t able to do anything but the most basic of exercises until I recovered… by which point the routine had been cast aside.

Though not related in any way to the new year or any resolutions, I submitted my application earlier this afternoon to the Graphic Design curriculum at Fanshawe College; I have been planning to for awhile, and did so today as the deadline is drawing near and I had Nicole to guide me through the process.

At any rate, I plan to make some big changes, and big progress this year. With any luck and a little determination (whether inspired by the new year or not), I’ll be able to stick to my goals and make the change I want in my life, too. Good luck to all of us, and happy 2009.

Comments
One Response to “Resolutions.”
  1. Hey Bobby Happy New Years! Congrats on applying to school! Graphic Design happens to be on my list of careers I admire (yea I actually do have a list). Anyways all the best in the New Year, Cheerios!

Leave a Reply

  • About

    My name is Bobby.

    I write about random things a lot. I write a lot about random things.

    I write occasionally for Smashing Magazine and the London Community News online, and weekly for Interrobang, the student voice newspaper at Fanshawe College in London, Ontario.

    I've also been published by the Canadian University Press.
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog!

