Tales from Tech Support.

So one conversation I had with a gentleman on the phones today bothered me a lot. He called up with some questions; he had newly switched to my service provider from another, and was simply inquiring about a couple of the transition benefits he was promised.

He asked me if it was for certain that all of his email messages and contacts would be imported over to his new provider (me, rhymes with ‘horizon’) from his old one (rhymes with ‘bombast’), and how long that would take. He also asked when we would send the mass message to everyone on his contact list to let them know that his email was changing, and if it was really only 30 days after the switch we’d respond to people who had erroneously emailed his old address to remind them of the new one.

I’m equal parts outraged by the idiot who made those promises to him, and his own unrealistic request. I was able to maintain calm and control the call informing him honestly that that is not a service we provide, that whomever told him of the transition must have been describing an initiative that was simply not ours. He took the news well, and accepted my reference to inquire with his old provider.

But what I wanted to do was call him naive and a moron, and offer various examples of stupidity equal to his same situation. “Seriously? What, you move to a new house, do you expect the new residents call back the wrong numbers to make sure they get you next time, run over and let you know they received a call for you? You selfish son of a bitch.”

Leave a Reply

  • About

    My name is Bobby.

    I write about random things a lot. I write a lot about random things.

    I write occasionally for Smashing Magazine and the London Community News online, and weekly for Interrobang, the student voice newspaper at Fanshawe College in London, Ontario.

    I've also been published by the Canadian University Press.
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog!

