Recording, Day 1.

I met today with a Mr. Greg Ilton, a bass player I have the pleasure of working and jamming with on a frequent basis. The result of these sessions is a shared musical interest and direction, and the topic of recording came up recently.

Today we got together for the first official session; Greg had already tracked an idea and he shared the project with me today for the first time. It is an untitled project as such, known to us only as ‘decent’ for the time being, but for it today I learned it and wrote a couple of rhythms, a couple of progressions to mix in. A handful of takes later, and Greg has a few things he can cut and paste and see if he can fit in… more on that and more direction soon.

The other project we worked on today is a song I wrote back in about 2002 or so, one entitled ‘In Hibernation’. I laid a guide track for it to begin, a very rough draft to capture the general idea and progression the song should take. Tracking in at nearly three minutes, I can pretty much envision it from start to finish in my mind… which is as much curse as blessing.

The main reason being that though I have the song finished in mind, I have a pretty clear idea of what exactly it should sound like. As such, I spent the next while brainstorming and tracking with Greg the best way to go about recording the intro – the first eight bars of the song. I can see that for the time being I’m going to have to work on playing with the specific tones and effects I can get from the equipment we have.

Anyway, the M.O. in place is to take it a little slow, leave lots of room for brainstorming to properly accommodate mistakes (both good and bad), retakes, other random ideas, etc. I’ll have more updates as that goes along.

Leave a Reply

  • About

    My name is Bobby.

    I write about random things a lot. I write a lot about random things.

    I write occasionally for Smashing Magazine and the London Community News online, and weekly for Interrobang, the student voice newspaper at Fanshawe College in London, Ontario.

    I've also been published by the Canadian University Press.
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog!

