Vox.


Silverchair – Without You, live in Newcastle

I received quite a surprise recently, logging into my profile on Last.fm and seeing that Silverchair had leapt to the top of my overall listened artists list. At that point, the overall number of listens had increased some 300% in about a month.

The reason? I’ve been suffering particularly bad insomnia lately, and find that I can’t fall asleep without music on. And the most recent two Silverchair albums – 2002’s Diorama and 2007’s Young Modern – are pure fucking genius. Every second of every song on each record is perfectly constructed, abstractly calculated brilliance and produced to perfection.

So I made a playlist of some 20 songs or so and put it on to listen to through the night. And it helps, it truly does… it’s exquisite.


Silverchair – Black Tangled Heart, live in Newcastle

I think a huge part of my love for the band (and their recent work in particular) is that Daniel Johns has emerged as an incredible vocalist over the past ten years. He’s always been talented – and it’s nice to hear a rock singer enunciate – but his abilities have blown me away repeatedly on the last couple of records, and honestly inspire me to be a better singer myself.

And to be insanely honest for a moment, I have this dream of providing vocals on a record as lush and colourful as Diorama, equally complex and emotive and clear. I have listened to that album frequently since it’s release in June of 2002, and think there’s probably no greater an example of a current rock musician with a greater range and vocal ability, so.

Leave a Reply

  • About

    My name is Bobby.

    I write about random things a lot. I write a lot about random things.

    I write occasionally for Smashing Magazine and the London Community News online, and weekly for Interrobang, the student voice newspaper at Fanshawe College in London, Ontario.

    I've also been published by the Canadian University Press.
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog!

