The half man.

Buster, by Nicole.


I was watching Two and a Half Men tonight curled up on the couch with my cat, as I often am, and it occurred to me for all the mocking conversation I’ve had with him, he’s responsible for making this apartment feel like there’s one and a half.

To answer a previous question, I’m moving into a new apartment with Nicole at the start of August. She’s been accepted into Western University – and is starting in September – and I work downtown, so it makes little sense to stay here in the east end of London. We’ve been calling new apartments and looking into places for a couple of weeks.

Nicole took this picture of Buster this morning – I guess he saw something out of the window. The thing is, she’s allergic to Buster, so I’m going to need someone to adopt him. It’s been years since I’ve told the story, but Buster came to live with me after he’d been abandoned by his previous owners in Bradford. He’d been left to his own devices and outside for a couple of days when I took him in, and he’s been mine ever since.

He’s five years old now, and annoying cuddly, always curling up to me on the couch and sleeping on my bed with me at night. He greets me at the door when I get home, and sometimes even jumps into my arms. Our playing around very often sees me chasing him around the apartment… though he cheats and runs home free under the bed.

In a lot of ways, he’s the only family I’ve had for a year and a half. And I’m going to miss him.

Comments
One Response to “The half man.”
  1. Nicole says:

    I do my best to fend off his cuddles and resist petting him, but today I gave in, just for a moment. I was rewarded with some purrs, but also by some hives, a constricted airway and many a sneeze.

    I can’t tell you how guilty I feel for this allergy.

    I’m sorry Bobby.

    Sorry Buster :o(

Leave a Reply

  • About

    My name is Bobby.

    I write about random things a lot. I write a lot about random things.

    I write occasionally for Smashing Magazine and the London Community News online, and weekly for Interrobang, the student voice newspaper at Fanshawe College in London, Ontario.

    I've also been published by the Canadian University Press.
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog!

