I wonder who dresses him…


Gavin Rossdale – Love Remains The Same

I’ve taken a lot of ribbing over the past eleven or twelve years as to my love of the handful of albums released by Bush and my idolizing singer/guitarist Gavin Rossdale.

Looking back on it, I know that there have been many times that I’ve sounded like a complete moron while describing the man and his music (“so amazingly awesometastic!”), and taken on web and design projects for him – anyone remember any of that work I did back in 2005 that never even wound up published? I know I wrote about it a fair bit.

But in all honesty, I can still remember that day in 1997, late in the Spring, being fifteen and depressed and turning on the television in time to catch Bush’s video for Cold Contagious; I can remember it being the perfect mixture of substance and setting, and having felt a relation to a song that I couldn’t access in any way (because, of course, Youtube and the like were still years away…).

Anyway, I borrowed the music, learned about the band – and Gavin Rossdale specifically – and felt real relation to his youth and his troubles. The music that he wrote and released (especially the band’s Razorblade Suitcase record) was raw and emotive and lit the way for me, creatively. Now it’s twelve years on and I still play guitar and write and cling to strong artistic albums for support and strength.

And now, Gavin is on the eve of releasing his first ever solo record, called Wanderlust. In addition to the record’s release next week, Gavin has just finished a video for the first single and has recorded an EP for upcoming release on iTunes that he personally describes as “an acoustic EP with some tripped out guitar, and some atmospherics, a pretty chilled out selection.” I’m looking forward to every second.

Leave a Reply

  • About

    My name is Bobby.

    I write about random things a lot. I write a lot about random things.

    I write occasionally for Smashing Magazine and the London Community News online, and weekly for Interrobang, the student voice newspaper at Fanshawe College in London, Ontario.

    I've also been published by the Canadian University Press.
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog!

