A cunning linguist.

I spent the evening with my dear gay friend Kevin, at his home downtown London. He actually drove me to get my prescription filled, which I appreciate tremendously, and afterwards we had a fantastic meal with his boyfriend and watched the night come on while sitting out on his deck, listening to music from my iPod stream out of a nearby speaker disguised as a rock.

We had this debate as to the definition of a double entendre, while stripping those little helicopter-leaf things from his neighbour’s tree and bouncing them off of his dog’s head. I was laughing cos I’d toss one and his dog would try to watch it, but it would fall through a crack in the deck. Eventually, Kevin did it as well.

“I see what you mean, my thing went in the hole.”

I laughed. “Now that’s a double entendre.”

Kevin smirked and tried to play innocent a bit. “What do you mean? How could that mean anything else?”

“I don’t know, just… like, if you had a thing, any thing on hand, right? And there was some hole there you could put it in.”

“I’m not sure I follow you.”

“Like, you know… if this thing that you had could like, go into a hole. A hole that like, I don’t know, maybe you wouldn’t ordinarily find a thing like that in.”

“Like a foreign object?”

“Well,” I pondered. “Maybe not extremely foreign, no… like, it could be made out of the same sort of stuff, just, you know… if you were to happen by such a hole, and perchance to look inside it, you might not be like, ‘hey, there’s one of those things.'”

“I think I see, sure.”

We both nodded, and a brief moment of silence passed.

“Or like, if you were to have sex in the bum.”

Leave a Reply

  • About

    My name is Bobby.

    I write about random things a lot. I write a lot about random things.

    I write occasionally for Smashing Magazine and the London Community News online, and weekly for Interrobang, the student voice newspaper at Fanshawe College in London, Ontario.

    I've also been published by the Canadian University Press.
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog!

