Loch Ness Triangle.

I remember being nine years old and living in this townhouse in Scarborough… I was super into sports, loved playing music on whatever instruments I could find, expressing myself by drawing all the time, and reading about everything I could find.

I guess that I had gotten into stories of lore around then, cos I remember sometime around late fall, 1991, I asked my stepmother’s boyfriend about how to submit an article to the newspaper for publishing. He got a copy of the Toronto Star for me, and helped me find the editorial address within.

I drafted this weighty exposé, worked really hard on making it sound as professional as possible, and got it all ready to send to the papers. I had to get a stamp or two, and addressed an envelope as neatly as possible. Very satisfied with myself, I slid that letter into the mailbox and went home happy.

Although at the time I remember spending the next few days watching the headlines and waiting for the acclaim to roll in, I guess now looking back on it that the hypothesis I had submitted about the Loch Ness monster traveling back and forth from Scotland to the Bermuda Triangle to down airplanes seems a bit sketchy at best…

Comments
One Response to “Loch Ness Triangle.”
  1. Nicole says:

    That is adorable. We would have been such good friends as kids. Around the age of eight, I was convinced for about a week that robots had come and taken the place of my parents. No one would believe me! I didn’t think of sending my story to the Star though…

Leave a Reply

  • About

    My name is Bobby.

    I write about random things a lot. I write a lot about random things.

    I write occasionally for Smashing Magazine and the London Community News online, and weekly for Interrobang, the student voice newspaper at Fanshawe College in London, Ontario.

    I've also been published by the Canadian University Press.
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog!

