“I’ll be close behind…”


Death Cab For Cutie – I Will Follow You Into The Dark

As Bellingham’s favourite sons Death Cab For Cutie are poised to release their latest studio effort, Narrow Stairs, I’ve been exploring some of their past records and really getting into them.

I’ve had a copy of The Photo Album for some time now (and for the record, still think eveyr tune on it is freaking brilliant), and played it quite a bit. Digital copies of Plans, Transatlanticism, and You Can Play These Songs With Chords have been horribly neglected, however, and I’m exploring them at length lately.

And while the jury is still out I have come to one conclusion, and that is this: Ben Gibbard is an amazing songwriter. Absolutely brilliant…

“Love of mine, some day you will die,
But I’ll be close behind – I’ll follow you into the dark.
No blinding light or tunnels to gates of white…
Just our hands clasped so tight, waiting for the hint of a spark…

If Heaven and Hell decide that they both are satisfied,
Illuminate the NOs on their vacancy signs…
If there’s no one beside you when your soul embarks,
Then I’ll follow you into the dark.”

Comments
One Response to ““I’ll be close behind…””
  1. aintgotno says:

    so emo … it’s really lovely :)

Leave a Reply

  • About

    My name is Bobby.

    I write about random things a lot. I write a lot about random things.

    I write occasionally for Smashing Magazine and the London Community News online, and weekly for Interrobang, the student voice newspaper at Fanshawe College in London, Ontario.

    I've also been published by the Canadian University Press.
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog!

