The Alchemy Index.

Been looking into a lot of bands the past bit, particularly those I mentioned a couple of days ago that were named to the Alternative Press list of essential albums of 2007.

One I’ve been particularly impressed with so far is Thrice, and the music off of their latest disc, The Alchemy Index Vols. I & II: Fire and Water – a two disc concept album, with volumes three and four (Air, Earth) coming soon. It’s not for everyone, surely, but it’s intriguing and experimental and urgent, and I enjoy it very much so far.

Here’s a link to a few tracks off of the album, via the Hype Machine. Tell me what you think.

Blogged with Flock

Comments
2 Responses to “The Alchemy Index.”
  1. Likalia says:

    I listened to the tracks on Hype Machine and really enjoyed them, I think I will have to go about adding their music to my collection. Thanks :)

  2. Bobby says:

    I’m glad to hear that. Yeah, I’ve listened to a couple of tracks from each disc, and I have to say I’m impressed. Thrice have come a long way from the balls-out screamo band they were but a couple of albums prior.

    I also think they’ve put together an impressive effort. I think it’s great when bands of any kind are able to transcend (their) genres and culminate their talents as such.

Leave a Reply

  • About

    My name is Bobby.

    I write about random things a lot. I write a lot about random things.

    I write occasionally for Smashing Magazine and the London Community News online, and weekly for Interrobang, the student voice newspaper at Fanshawe College in London, Ontario.

    I've also been published by the Canadian University Press.
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog!

