The best (and the rest).

Seems I was on the right track in my thinking a few weeks ago, because since I blogged about Paramore, I’ve noticed them popping up all over the place. Perhaps I simply wasn’t in tune with it before, but now I’m picking up on the buzz, and the fact that the band are really becoming something of a household name.

I’ve just purchased the January issue of Alternative Press, and have to say that it’s a fantastic issue. If you’re any kind of fan of the latest wave of pop vs punk vs rock music that’s been swelling up over the past few years, you’re going to love this issue. It features not only a look back at the best music to come out of 2007, but also a plug for a handful of deserving unsigned bands, all nominated by readers.

I make it my business to check out new music where I can, particularly all the ‘scene’ stuff of late, as I really like it for it’s creativity and energy. As such, I wanted to mention a couple I’ve really enjoyed so far, My Favorite Highway and The Sophomore Attempt. Both of them exist inside that popular rock sphere, and are distinct enough to stand just above the crowd, and I’ll be watching for them to spread their wings a bit in 2008.

I’ll likely write about a few more things I’ve found, but in the meantime, I figured I’d share with you the collective editors picks for the ’10 Essential Albums Of 2007′ (which are printed in no particular order), which have been married with feedback strong enough to make me give these bands an open mind and a free ear. Perhaps it’ll reinforce an opinion you already have. Perhaps it’ll introduce you to a new favourite. I don’t know.

Circa Survive, On Letting Go
“Evokes an era when hazy lyricism and reckless introspection were prerequisites for legitimacy and timelessness.”

Grinderman, Grinderman
“Attitudinal energy and a stripped-down animal impulsiveness … Grinderman tear up rock’s antiseptic convention and set it on fire.”

Holy Fuck, Holy Fuck
“[Their] ability to create inspired atmospheres and road-rage soundtracks … should be embraced by everyone.”

Minus The Bear, Planet Of Ice
“I hesitate to give it five full stars – only because I know they will top it once again.”

New Years Day, My Dear
“If I ever decided to quit my job and front a band, I would want it to be just like New Years Day.”

Okkervil River, The Stage Names
“Every song fits so perfectly with the others, I can’t imagine a single note changed.”

Tegan and Sara, The Con
“Something for everyone, which is probably why I can’t seem to stop listening to it nearly six months after it’s release.”

Thrice, The Alchemy Index Vols. I & II: Fire and Water
“If it’s genius reinvention you’re after, it could have been called The Fire And Water Are Raging Inside Me.”

Weatherbox, American Art
“A rock album for the ages, full of confidence, gusto, self-awareness, raw emotion and most importantly, really fucking good songs.”

Wilco, Sky Blue Sky
“Can reach even the Hot Topic masses. You just gotta give it a chance.”

Blogged with Flock

Comments
One Response to “The best (and the rest).”
  1. Simon Tonekham says:

    got that issue the other day, quite interesting interview about Paramore….

Leave a Reply

  • About

    My name is Bobby.

    I write about random things a lot. I write a lot about random things.

    I write occasionally for Smashing Magazine and the London Community News online, and weekly for Interrobang, the student voice newspaper at Fanshawe College in London, Ontario.

    I've also been published by the Canadian University Press.
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog!

