Painting: a live-blogging experience.

I came to Chatham this weekend between my regular visits to assist in painting Erica’s room; filled to capacity with toys and (since her birthday and Christmas) everything that Disney could conceivably brand Princesses on, it’s always been a cute room. It’s just that the walls were a bare off-white and in need of a little colour. So here I am, and off we go.

Trim, doorframes, closet doors (last night)

6:00 pm: Taping off the carpet so we can paint the trim and baseboards.

6:15 pm: Painting the baseboards. We’re using this off-white supplied by the landlord.

7:00 pm: Still painting. Going to do the back of the bedroom door and the closet doors in the same colour as well.

7:30 pm: Closet doors. Hoo boy.

8:00 pm: Finished. Waiting to do the second coat.

9:30 pm: Doing the second coat.

11:00 pm: Done the second coat.

Bedroom walls (for today)

12:00 pm: Under way. We have this very light, Robin’s Egg-like blue for the walls. Mandy chose it to offset the fact that everything in the room is Princess pink – there are shades of blue in Erica’s Princess comforter.

12:05 pm: Painting.

12:30 pm: Still painting. I’m using a roller. Not that I wasn’t before, but I am.

1:30 pm: Still painting. I didn’t mention that I’ve finished a couple of walls, but I have, it’s not like I’ve been doing the same one all this time.

3:00 pm: Starting the second coat. Painting sucks.

4:15 pm: Seriously, I don’t much like painting. I think I like it less than helping people move… I’d probably prefer helping Erica move into a room that is already painted.

4:45 pm: Thought of something to say, but by the time I got here to write it, I’d forgotten already. Sorry.

5:00 pm: Finished. Now I need a shower.

6:15 pm: Showered, and ate some toast.

8:30 pm: What do you mean, we’re probably going to have to do some touch-ups in the morning??

10:15 pm: Yeah, perhaps painting isn’t the most interesting thing to do this about. Guess I’ll know for next time, it’s about as interesting as watching pai- hey, I guess that’s where that saying comes from!

Leave a Reply

  • About

    My name is Bobby.

    I write about random things a lot. I write a lot about random things.

    I write occasionally for Smashing Magazine and the London Community News online, and weekly for Interrobang, the student voice newspaper at Fanshawe College in London, Ontario.

    I've also been published by the Canadian University Press.
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog!

