iHatred.

I know I mentioned this to a few a you, but I was pretty pissed when I returned home from New Years vacation… I went to charge my iPod, which I had spent a satisfying couple of weeks draining, and reached for the cable/dock to do so, only to find it broken; the little stereo jack upon it had been forced aside and into the station, as a result of being stepped on or something.

My ire at that point seemed little more than nuissance by the time I finally found the page on Apple.com to replace the unit, only to find that it was priced at $29.00 in US dollars (which thanks to a converting tool, I found was little more than CDN $28.00). I mean, the whole thing only cost me $80.00, and the cable is $30? It didn’t sit too well with me.

Fast forward a few days, and I have to call the telephone help line due to the fact the ordering process is hitting some snags. Turns out that I couldn’t amend the ordering form to a Canadian address, cos I wasn’t in the Canadian Apple store. Oops. So I find the appropriate page again, only to find it priced at $39.00 in Canadian funds! I was incredibly unhappy by this point, and swearing at all that is iHoly.

So anyway, I shopped around the site a bit, and found this other take on the unit, a design by a company called Marware – a single unit, no cords, and competitively priced at $24.95. So I ordered it, even swallowing a touch of rage at the notice it would ship soon, but not arrive until the “week of Jan. 18-23.”

And then, surprise of all surprises, it showed up at my door yesterday afternoon. My world is musical again. TouchĂ©, Marware…

Moral: I don’t know. But although it’s frustrating sometimes to get pushed back and delayed, it makes for an even more delightful surprise when your expectations are exceeded in the end.

Blogged with Flock

Leave a Reply

  • About

    My name is Bobby.

    I write about random things a lot. I write a lot about random things.

    I write occasionally for Smashing Magazine and the London Community News online, and weekly for Interrobang, the student voice newspaper at Fanshawe College in London, Ontario.

    I've also been published by the Canadian University Press.
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog!

