Our first conversation.



Sure, I talk to Erica on the phone all the time, but it’s always me checking in with her, asking her the same questions, reminding her when next I’m down to visit.

This evening, however, while on the phone with Mandy, I heard in the background her asking to talk to me for a second time.


Me: Hello? What’s the matter, honey?

Erica: Sylvester bit me.

Me: He bit you? Why did he bite you?

Erica: Right there.

Me: What?

Mandy (in background): Say it’s on your finger.

Me: He bit you on the finger?

Erica: Yeah.

Me: Are you okay?

Erica: Yeah.

Me: I’m sorry, honey. Why did he bite you?

Erica: He’s bad.

Me:(laughing) Awww… were you hurting him?

Erica: Yeah.

Me: Well, sweetie, you have to be gentle with him, okay? Be careful. I’m sorry that he bit you.

Erica gets off of the phone, Mandy gets back on.

Mandy: Yeah, so I- Erica, get off of him, he’s going to bite you again!

Sylvester is her cat, one that she points out with great frequency looks a lot like my cat, Buster. He was adopted, too – by Mandy’s family in 2000. As far as anyone knows, that makes him approximately 11 years old now.

Leave a Reply

  • About

    My name is Bobby.

    I write about random things a lot. I write a lot about random things.

    I write occasionally for Smashing Magazine and the London Community News online, and weekly for Interrobang, the student voice newspaper at Fanshawe College in London, Ontario.

    I've also been published by the Canadian University Press.
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog!

