It’s happening… or is it?

If you know me at all, you know that I’ve been pretty unhappy with my computer ever since upgarding to Windows Vista back in May. Once I got past the initial anal security issues, it wasn’t too bad, but the fact that it prevented me the ‘authority’ to do things like copy music onto my iPod were just freakin ridiculous.

Anyway, I can’t really tell you if it’s laziness or whatever, but I’ve been dragging my feet on correcting the issue; perhaps there’d be an update along the way that would improve things, perhaps it was all just a little bug that’d correct itself… I mean, my system met all the requirements, the OS came for free when I ordered my computer a year ago. I didn’t know what to do, but I didn’t want to go to the same trouble in removing it as I did installing it.

Anyway, I’ve pretty much reached my wits end. I can’t take it anymore, I decided to finally go back to XP SP2, the cream of the Windows crop. Only for whatever reason, either my computer or Windows (more likely, I think) has decided that the action of downgrading and the software on the XP disc aren’t ‘compatible’ with my system.

So, on to the contingency – burning the 29 Gb of personal files (25 Gb of which is music) to DVDs and simply reformatting the drive. The problem? This bullshit Roxio software (which I’ve never attempted to use before this) doesn’t seem to want to comply and burn anything. Disc after disc fails at the last possible second, and I’m left with a stack of DVDs, a bitch PC, and a bad taste in my mouth.

I don’t know what kind of lapse I’m going to have in online activity, be it blogging or corresponding to you friends in Facebook or email or the like, but I’m determined one way or the other to break the cycle to which I’m falling victim and restore my once-perfect computer. Man, I miss the days I could have it entirely booted in a matter of seconds…

Alternate titles: “But it’s so pretty…”; “Vistagate”; “It’s my own fault, really… I enjoy being cornholed by Microsoft”; “Yes, I’m happy with my computer, why?”.

Blogged with Flock

Leave a Reply

  • About

    My name is Bobby.

    I write about random things a lot. I write a lot about random things.

    I write occasionally for Smashing Magazine and the London Community News online, and weekly for Interrobang, the student voice newspaper at Fanshawe College in London, Ontario.

    I've also been published by the Canadian University Press.
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog!

