On ‘Bobbyisms.’

Don’t ask me what brought me to poke around my blog’s Dashboard today; I suppose it has a lot to do with boredom, but I was checking things out here and there, and came across two things that… well, made me feel something that’s like a cross between amusement and delight. I can’t think of the word, if there even is one… so… I’m going to call it yimmy.

I felt pretty yimmy today upon learning that:

  1. My friend Simon’s blog is listed as #6 on the list of fastest growing blogs on WordPress.com.

  2. People have been finding my blog by searching for the term ‘bobbyisms’.

A quick google search on the term led me to find a handful of other blogs and forums on which the term was used. And I think this amused (yimmied) me as much as it did cos it’s definitely not something I ever thought would be… anything. I mean, it’s not like I thought I invented the term (although it appears I’m the only one using it lately), but I had no idea there could be so many variations on a theme already on the Intertubes.

Definitively, the term bobbyisms would seem to have a few different applications, denoting amusing miscommunications and errors in speech, fondly remembering loved ones who had a handful of particular catchphrases, and here, where I use it to share paricularly random bits of conversations I have, made more random and/or awkward by removing them from all context.

Anyway, I suppose you learn something every day. Tomorrow I’m going to do some reading to see if I can finally find where the clitoris is.

Comments
2 Responses to “On ‘Bobbyisms.’”
  1. Simon Tonekham says:

    Hey man,
    thanks for mentioning me and my blog. I deserved high marks for that blog. There’s little criticism about my blog. One user from America bereaved me from leaving livejournal and going into WordPress. I don’t care about that thesedays, I want to go into a new direction.

    Cheers.

  2. Bobby says:

    Sure thing, dude. Cos everyone knows how cool Livejournal is…

Leave a Reply

  • About

    My name is Bobby.

    I write about random things a lot. I write a lot about random things.

    I write occasionally for Smashing Magazine and the London Community News online, and weekly for Interrobang, the student voice newspaper at Fanshawe College in London, Ontario.

    I've also been published by the Canadian University Press.
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog!

