Let the music heal.

In light of the slump I’ve been in recently, I’ve been listening to a lot of angsty and upbeat music. It helps sometimes, and I figured as a further therapeutic effort, I’d go ahead and share this with you. The concept, I admit, is a little primary, but I’m thinking along the lines of an Internet-style intervention.

So here are a few tunes I’ve been listening to a lot lately, in the first installment of a kind of loser anthems collection.


Kaddisfly – Heshvan: Clouds

This is perfectly indicitive of the kind of dark, brooding music that anyone needs when they’re hurting like this. It’s draining.


Senses Fail – Every Day Is A Struggle

“So much for the past year… I poured it down the drain with all the alcohol and pain I got from your eyes. Oh, your eyes…”


The Starting Line – Are You Alone

This is a bit of an exception; for the most part, any music reminding me of my situation or loneliness (City and Colour, Elliot Smith) has been hidden away with the knives. But this is a great song, and it does help a bit.

I hope everyone else out there that I love and care about is okay right now.

Comments
2 Responses to “Let the music heal.”
  1. Slava says:

    Oooh, it looks like you need some more loneliness anthems. Here’s a few of my favourites:

    “Woke Up New” by The Mountain Goats

    “She Doesn’t Live Here Anymore” by Jay-Jay Johanson

  2. Bobby says:

    As always, mate, you have the most impeccable taste in music. Those songs are brilliant; they’re simply too perfect even to bring me down. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

  • About

    My name is Bobby.

    I write about random things a lot. I write a lot about random things.

    I write occasionally for Smashing Magazine and the London Community News online, and weekly for Interrobang, the student voice newspaper at Fanshawe College in London, Ontario.

    I've also been published by the Canadian University Press.
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog!

