Of music.


I have trouble choosing favourites when it comes to music… I’m constantly asked about favourite artists or albums, and it’s difficult to select out of all the music I love. I cop out in most any way I can, like on my Facebook page – I simply take the top 10 artists featured on my Last.Fm profile and post that in my favourites.

One such reason for my trouble would have to be that I don’t listen to music the same as most people; I suppose it’s a result of the grunge movement, but there’s something about cryptic lyrics and pained music that has always drawn me in, to the extent that I’ll look for subtext in regular pop music.

Anyway, I’ve been kind of blue the past couple of weeks, and particularly the past few days, and in listening to music today I realised that a favourite would definitely be an album of which I’ve made copies for all my friends. In that case, Brand New’s The Devil And God Are Raging Inside Me is near the very top, and it pleases me when I’m down.

Brand New – Jesus Christ

“I know you’re coming in the night like a thief
But I’ve had some time alone to hone my lying technique
I know you think that I’m someone you can trust
But I’m scared I’ll get scared and I swear I’ll try to nail you back up
So do you think that we could work out a sign
So I’ll know it’s you and that it’s over so I won’t even try…”


Brand New – Limousine

“Yeah, you were right about me
But can I get myself out from underneath
This guilt that will crush me
In the choir, I saw our sad Messiah
He was bored and tired of my laments
He said, ‘I died for you one time, but never again'”

Leave a Reply

  • About

    My name is Bobby.

    I write about random things a lot. I write a lot about random things.

    I write occasionally for Smashing Magazine and the London Community News online, and weekly for Interrobang, the student voice newspaper at Fanshawe College in London, Ontario.

    I've also been published by the Canadian University Press.
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog!

