24 hours

Young man, old man… you ain’t better than the rest
So… wow. I woke up to this blinding pain in my neck on Sunday night, between 2:00-3:00 am, and ended up phoning Telehealth Ontario(the 24-hr nurses hotline) about it, but in the end only took a painkiller and was able to fall asleep.

Yesterday morning, I woke up without any real residual pain, and was able to drive Mikey and Jules to the station to take them home, but then the pain started coming back and culminated around lunchtime, with nausea, dizziness, and excessive sweating. So… off to the hospital.

I arrived at Southlake Regional Health Centre around 1:00 pm to begin what would be a 14-hr visit to attempt to discover the problem. All dizzy and pained, it was a day of firsts for me: my first IV, first CAT scan, first (and second, third) spinal tap, and first medical mystery.

For lack of a better place to start, it was treated as a migraine, but they were asking me a lot if I had a history (or family history) of aneurysms, heart problems like angina, if I’d ever had a heart attack or stroke, etc. I was pretty freaked out. In the end, there aren’t many answers, although I take some comfort in the fact that the CAT scan revealed no problems whatsoever and the lumbar punctures indicated no bleeding.

So… they gave me super-strong painkillers and discharged me, sometime around 3:00 am. Here’s hoping the problem will correct itself with time and medication, I guess…

Slava Ukraini!
About the only plus side to being at the hospital was the fact I got warded with my own television and was able to watch Ukraine conquer Switzerland out of the Round of 16. It all came down to goaltending prowess, and huge, huge props are owed to Ukrainian netminder Oleksandr Shovkovskyi for closing the door on every Suisse attempt, while his teammates humiliated Pascal Zuberbeuhler.

And not to be nasty, but I was especially happy watching Switzerland lose after being annoyed to hell all game by the Suisse team (and in particular, Ludovic Magnin #3) acting like a big bitch. But then, the only channel showing the game wasn’t in English, so I had no commentary to fall back on…

10K Run For Canada Countdown
Only 4 more days until I run 10K to raise money for Canadian athletes. Please click here if you are interested in sponsoring my effort. Cos even if I’m forced to walk it now, I’m still going to do it.

Kickass lyric of the day

I’m not sure what’s worse
The waiting or the waiting room
“You’re next sir” becomes a cruel taunt to you
Recycled air, the smell of sleep and disinfectant
Your god is a two door elevator

Do they even cure you (cut me open, drug me)
Or is it just to humour us before we die (repair all my defects)
If only we could heal ourselves…
We wouldn’t need to be hooked up to these machines.

Alexisonfire, “Accidents”

Comments
4 Responses to “24 hours”
  1. Slava says:

    Damn Bobby, that must have been one hell of a scary Monday. Here’s to hoping that you’re all well and healthy and ready to run. Hopefully our Ukrainian boys helped raise your spirits!

  2. Bobby says:

    It was an interesting day, to say the least. But yeah, if the Ukrainians can overcome their obstacles, why not I?

    The only drag is going to be missing the England/Portugal match on Saturday. But I’ll know the outcome by the time I return home… either the town will be exploding with enthusiasm and spilling into the streets, or it’ll be nice and quiet. Not as many English supporters as there are Portugese…

  3. Jen says:

    Wow, 3 spinal taps? Ouch.

    I hope you’re feeling better!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] begin again. This city and everything that made up my 2007 have taken such a toll on me… my attacks have started again, […]



Leave a Reply

  • About

    My name is Bobby.

    I write about random things a lot. I write a lot about random things.

    I write occasionally for Smashing Magazine and the London Community News online, and weekly for Interrobang, the student voice newspaper at Fanshawe College in London, Ontario.

    I've also been published by the Canadian University Press.
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog!

